Donor Videos

UAMS Chancellor Dan Rahn, M.D., is retired after 8 years of extraordinary leadership. His wife, Lana, has helped transform the campus through the Arts Council. Take a look back at their time at UAMS, and the July 11, 2017 dedication of the Daniel W. Rahn Interprofessional Education Building.

UAMS' Largest Donor is the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation. Over the years, the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation has given $100 million to UAMS in support of geriatrics programs and research. The Reynolds Institute on Aging, which includes a top-ranked geriatrics program and renowned home caregiver training program, meets the needs of an aging population with the highest standards of service, research and care. This is all possible thanks to the Reynolds Foundation.

J. Floyd Kyser, M.D. ’62, began practicing in Arkansas in 1969 and met James Y. Suen, M.D. ’66 through a residency rotation program. Those six weeks together fostered mutual admiration for both men. The Patricia and J. Floyd Kyser. M.D. Chair in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery recognizes the legendary career of Dr. Suen as he prepares to step down as department chair after 42 years at the helm.

A devoted husband and father, William “Bill” Clark died of cancer in 2007. His wife, Margaret, a member of the Society of the Double Helix, and his son, William E. Clark II, chair of the UAMS Foundation Fund Board, share stories about Bill and the distinguished endowed chair established for Bill’s best friend, J. Thomas “Tommy” May. Bill and Tommy both served as members of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees.

Charles Scharlau, member of the University of Arkansas Foundation Board and the UAMS Foundation Fund Board, and former member of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees, talks about what UAMS means to him and the state of Arkansas. Charles’ late wife, Clydene, received treatment at UAMS for multiple myeloma. In recognition for the care his wife received, he established the Charles & Clydene Scharlau Chair for Hematological Malignancies Research in 2012. In 2015, Charles created a second endowed chair, the Scharlau Family Endowed Chair in Cancer Research.

I realized that without the care and healing that I received here, that I probably wouldn’t be the person that I am today.” Patti Bailey, chair of the UAMS Foundation Fund Board, speaks on her experiences at UAMS both as an administrator and as a patient.

Phillip Jonsson expresses that Reynolds Institute on Aging is making a difference throughout Arkansas and is blazing a path under Dr. Wei’s leadership. He and Diane are very enthusiastic about the institute and want to provide support in every they can.

We are deeply thankful for your generosity and friendship.

Cameron Smith is a Winthrop P.Rockefeller Cancer Institute Foundation Fund Board member and a grateful patient through his philanthropic gifts to UAMS.

Lung cancer is the number one cause of cancer death in the United States and in Arkansas. That’s why the Lung Cancer Team at the UAMS Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute is dedicated to fighting this disease through prevention, screening and advanced treatment options.

A $1 million gift by James C. and Mary Kay East to UAMS has established the Kent C. Westbrook, M.D. Chair in Surgical Oncology. The chair will provide resources to ensure patients have the opportunity to understand their disease and participate in decisions based on scientific evidence, treatment availability and their own wishes.

Dr. Nicki Hilliard, professor of Pharmacy Practice and Women’s Giving Circle Chair, and second-year student pharmacist Erin Puryear share stories of how the Women's Giving Circle impacts the College of Pharmacy.

With the leadership of Lewis E. Epley, Jr., UAMS established a Doctor of Physical Therapy Program at the UAMS Northwest Arkansas Campus. This is the only UAMS program located solely at the regional campus. In these videos, Mr. Epley shares the new program's importance.

William Culp, M.D., Vice Chairman of Research and Professor of Radiology, Surgery and Neurology and Robert Skinner, Ph.D., Professor, Neurobiology & Developmental Science discuss how the UAMS team contributes cutting edge answers to old problems.

Jim Raczynski, Ph.D., Dean of the Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health, and his wife, Martha Phillips, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Epidemiology, have pledged a gift of $1 million to establish the Raczynski Phillips Bruce Chair in Social Determinants of Health at UAMS.

Darlene Giffin’s daughter, Cammy, was a nurse and died in a tragic automobile accident. To honor her memory, Darlene and her family established a scholarship at the UAMS College of Nursing so Cammy’s love of nursing will continue forever.